Council Minutes

Council Minutes

Wednesday 28 June 2017
7:30 p.m.
Council Chamber, Town Hall, Middlesbrough

Attendance Details

Councillor S E Bloundele (Chair), Councillor R Brady (Vice-Chair), Councillor R Arundale, Councillor S Biswas, Councillor J Blyth, Councillor D J Branson, Councillor J Brunton, Mr D Budd, Councillor M Carr, Councillor D P Coupe, Councillor D Davison, Councillor S Dean, Councillor E Dryden, Councillor J Goodchild, Councillor T Harvey, Councillor A Hellaoui, Councillor T Higgins, Councillor C Hobson, Councillor J Hobson, Councillor B A Hubbard, Councillor N Hussain, Councillor L Lewis, Councillor T Mawston, Councillor D McCabe, Councillor J McGee, Councillor L McGloin, Councillor F McIntyre, Councillor C M Rooney, Councillor D Rooney, Councillor J Rostron, Councillor M Saunders, Councillor M Storey, Councillor M Thompson, Councillor Z Uddin, Councillor J A Walker, Councillor M Walters, Councillor J Young, Councillor L Young
M Allinson, J Bromiley, B Carr, P Clark, L Henman, A Hoy, D Johnson, J McCulloch, A Pain, T Parkinson, B Roberts and S Reynolds
Apologies for absence:
Councillor T Lawton, Councillor J McTigue, Councillor G Purvis, Councillor P Purvis, Councillor J Rathmell, Councillor J Sharrocks, Councillor N J Walker
Declarations of interest:

None Declared.

Item Number Item/Resolution

The Monitoring Officer submitted a report, the purpose of which was for Council to agree the appointment of an Executive Member to the Chief Officer Appointments Committee.


Members were advised that the Chief Officer Appointments Committee is presently comprised of: five Labour Members; one Conservative Member; and one MICA Member. Of the five Labour Members, the current allocations were for the Elected Mayor, Deputy Mayor, and two nominated Members; the fifth (as stipulated in paragraph 3(a) of the Officer Employment Procedure Rules) was "the relevant portfolio holder."


In order to ensure certainty going forwards, it was proposed to replace the words "the Elected Mayor, Deputy Mayor and the relevant portfolio holder" with the words "the Elected Mayor." This would revert the "relevant portfolio holder" requirement to a simple nomination for the committee. The Committee would, thereafter, comprise: the Elected Mayor; four other Labour Members; one Conservative Member; and one MICA Member.


It was proposed and seconded that the Executive Member for Finance and Governance, Councillor N Walker, be appointed to Chief Officer Appointments Committee. 


Moved, seconded and ORDERED that Council agree: 

a) the amended wording for the composition of the Chief Officer Appointments Committee;
b) the appointment of Councillor N Walker, the Executive Member for Finance and Governance, as the nominated Executive Member to the Chief Officer Appointments Committee; and
c) the appointment of such substitutes as may be nominated by the Members of the Committee. 

Powered by E-GENDA from Associated Knowledge Systems Ltd